What The Video Game Industry Can Learn From Netflix

“The best way to combat piracy isn’t legislatively or criminally but by giving good options.”

These are the words of Netflix “Chief Content Officer” – let’s call him boss – Ted Sarandos. And it’s a simple truth told in a recent interview. Piracy is a problem everywhere – movie industry, music industry, book industry, and of course the video games industry. For many years, the big players in the industry preferred going to courts – remember the old Napster and poor Lars Ulrich?

Now it’s more about lobbying governments to introduce harsh anti-piracy regulations and to force all ISPs to store all our data for years – and making it available to the vultures of the industries, lawyers. But then again, some people have woken up and realised you can make money with making your customers happy – think about Spotify, Netflix and their likes. Certainly, that’s the future. Why would you download movies or TV shows via Bit Torrent when you could also watch them instantly? Of course, people with slow internet connections don’t profit, but they weren’t able to pirate stuff beforehand, too. And yes, Netflix also suffers from late additions to its roster for various reasons (especially outside the U.S.), and new movies are still a rare sight. Oh, and there should be more Jackie Chan flicks!

Now let’s have a look at the video games industry. Nintendo knows nothing about online marketing, that’s for sure, and Microsoft still sticks to paying for Xbox LIVE Gold without us getting anything worthwhile in return. That’s the last century approach. Sony, however, got it right with PlayStation Plus; pay a minor fee and get a couple of free games (or more) a month. This just sounds like the future.

If we have to rely on streaming or downloading games (a prospect not exactly welcomed by collectors of physical media such as Rabidgames), this future should at least contain value for money. And Sony’s approach definitely sounds better than the traditional “pay 40 quid up front” if we cannot sell it again if the game is crap.

Rabidgames wonders: The content world has changed – be it for better or worse. And it is up to the three giants to react to that change. One option is always online and no more second hand games, yes. But is treating gamers like criminals and idiots really the right approach? Is PS Plus a sign of things to come? Microsoft, Sony and Nintendo should embrace change. Yes, you can!

14 Responses to “What The Video Game Industry Can Learn From Netflix”

  1. 99 while at Direct 2 Drive, Batman Arkham Asylum download for PC will set you back $9.
    The first technical reason these pirate downloads can be carried out as quick pirate downloads may be the technology used.
    As these penalties seemed rather severe punishment and after hearing one from the defendants
    discussing the proceedings as ‘a theatre trail’ I decided to analyze further.

  2. The subsequent time I learn a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I imply, I do know it was my choice to learn, however I actually thought youd have one thing interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you possibly can fix if you happen to werent too busy searching for attention.

  3. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I
    find It really useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like
    you helped me.

  4. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much.

    I hope to give something back and aid others like you
    aided me.

  5. Wow, this piece of writing is nice, my sister is analyzing such things, so
    I am going to let know her.

  6. Hello, Neat post. There is a problem together with your site in internet explorer,
    would test this? IE nonetheless is the marketplace leader and
    a good component of people will leave out your magnificent
    writing due to this problem.

  7. The Sims 4 is the extremely predicted existence simulation recreation that lets
    you enjoy with daily life like by no means before. Develop new Sims with intelligence
    and emotion, whose each action is informed and impacted by their interactions and emotional states.
    Expertise all new intuitive and exciting imaginative instruments.
    Sculpt your Sims in Generate A Sim and build unique properties with the
    tactile area-based Construct Manner. Management the head, human body, and coronary
    heart of your Sims with dynamic, emotion-prosperous gameplay, and carry your stories to daily life.

  8. IncreԀible quest there. Wɦat occսrreԁ after?
    Good luck!

  9. I do not even knοw how I ended up here, but I assumed this post was great.
    I don’t recogniƶe who you’re but defiոitely you are going tto ɑ famous bloggeг when you are not already.
    Cheers!

  10. This is a topic which is close to my heart… Cheers! Exactly where are your
    contact details though?

  11. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment
    but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr…
    well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say
    excellent blog!

  12. I just like the helpful information you provide in your articles.

    I will bookmark your blog and test again here regularly.
    I’m slightly certain I will be told many new stuff right
    here! Good luck for the next!

  13. Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog centered on the same information you discuss and would really like to
    have you share some stories/information. I know my visitors would appreciate your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.

Leave a Reply

